What happens when…

…Two thieves enter a coffee shop and meet two baristas talking about a pink thong on the counter?

Only in Towson… Or is it just the beginning of the apocalypse?

Don’t worry, it’s not the end of the world and NASA already had that verified. This is just part of a story I wrote in college, “The Thieves and the Underwear“.

The idea came to me when I was in English class at Towson University, taking notes from my professor and fellow writer, Michael Downs. One of the stories we had just read was Ernest Hemmingway’s “The Killers”, which was about a few gangsters going into an empty restaurant and forcing a waiter to go kill a man in town. A man who really doesn’t care about life anyway.

So when I read a little of that, along with some other Hemmingway classics from his collection The Snows of Kilimanjaro, the idea came to me:

A couple of burglars enter a Starbucks in Towson and force two baristas to rob a bank. Problem is, the bank teller won’t shut up, like Sister Cecilia in “The Gambler, The Nun, and The Radio”. So what happens then?

If you love that, read the page and hit “Like”. Then share on Facebook, LinkedIn, or any other social network. If you really love it, send my web site to a publisher and help me reach my goal of becoming a published author!

Then again, the ice caps could melt, causing the entire planet to be engulfed in water and other terrible superstorms to make the end of the world possible!

Nah, save it, Mayans. I’m feeling great today and as the great Kaylee from the TV show Firefly said, “Nothing in the verse can stop me.”

Note: this is a short story as a part of my collection, A Beautiful Mess.

Read more: https://rachelbethahrens.wordpress.com/thieves-and-the-underwear/

Leave a Reply

