The unabridged letter to Mr. Levi

Ok, “Chuck” fans and sci fi nerds. You want an awesome fan letter, well written by a cool fan? Well, I’m not all that cool, really. But since the little voice in my head has been driving me crazy with not sending my letter to Mr. Levi himself because he won’t leave the comforts of Hollywood, here’s my sad little letter, untouched by editors:

Dear Zachary Levi,

This is Rachel, fellow nerd (a.k.a. “The Nerd Queen” on rachelbethahrens.wordpress.com) and your newest big fan!

Not only do I adore your work in “Chuck” and Disney’s Tangled, and I’m very excited about Thor: The Dark World, I’ve been coming to science fiction conventions since I was a baby. Though I’ve tried so hard to be a normal classy girl throughout my school years, I couldn’t help being a total nerd when it came to movies, shows, books and music.

Sadly, I can’t get to the San Diego Comic Con to see you because I don’t have the money and I’ve never been to the west coast, which is a Jiffy Lube oil change away. This is why I’m asking you to come to next year’s Farpoint convention in Timonium, MD.

Farpoint’s a smaller convention that’s at a nice hotel, The Crowne Plaza, and it’s very similar to Shore Leave because it’s a fan run con. When I say fan run, that means the committee is run by the fans and the atmosphere is that of a family or high school reunion. The people are friendly and the events and panels are awesome. There are also auctions for fan items and artwork where all the proceeds go to great causes, like the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

-A good friend of mine who was the same age as me and went to every single convention died from leukemia one year. If he was alive today, he’d be 24 with a college degree and a super cool job. He was the son of a great sci fi/comic writer Bob Greenberger, who you’d definitely see at this con, and there’s a fund, scholarship, and masquerade prize (The Robbie Greenberger Originality Award) named after him.

Last weekend for our 20th anniversary of Farpoint, we had Rob Paulsen (Pinky and Yakko voices from “Animaniacs”) as a guest, as well as nerd princess Felicia Day (Joss Whedon’s “Dollhouse” and Dr. Horrible), your former fellow “Chuck” costar Bonita Friedericy -I understand she calls you “little Abe Lincoln” 🙂  -and her husband John Billingsley. We had a total blast with the two of them on Sunday!

As for the events, there’s karaoke and a big cocktail party for guests on Friday (I recommend karaoke night- I know you can sing!), a masquerade/costume contest followed by a sick “Ten Forward” dance party on Saturday, and a parody play on Sunday. This year, we also had a free TARDIS  photo booth right out of Doctor Who, which I’m hoping we’ll get to have again for next year.

Ok, I think I’ve said enough already, so I’d love it if you’d come to Farpoint next February during Valentine’s Day weekend. Looking forward to meeting you!

-Rachel Ahrens, “The Nerd Queen”

*Sad that this will never make it to Hollywood.

Leave a Reply

