The sci fi month of May

Ok, those of you who don’t know already… I’m planning to do a monthly video of The Nerd Queen whenever I get the chance and I’m posting it to this very blog! (Woot!) However, there have been some glitches with everything and I’ve been putting it off for some time. But she will prevail and she will enter this site! Never fear!

Greetings, my fellow nerds!

The month of May was, as you know, the blockbuster release month here in America, and I was pleased to view three amazing films for science fiction, comic book, and American novel lovers. That is, if you understand my meaning.

Those movies that did very well at the Box Office were: Iron Man 3, The Great Gatsby, and Star Trek: Into Darkness.

Tony and his suit, just chilling out. I smiled when I saw this. Courtesy of collider.com.

Tony and his suit, just chilling out. I smiled when I saw this. Courtesy of collider.com.

I had a very hard time choosing which movie I liked best because all three were incredibly stunning. The third Iron Man had incredible visuals and high octane, but proved to take a darker turn. If I could say anything about this movie, particularly one scene that was in there, I would spoil the whole movie for you.

Still, it took breathtaking turns and gut wrenching surprises. The encounters Tony Stark (Robert Downey, Jr.) has with a small town boy are touching, and there were so many laughs from start to finish. And with all Marvel Comic movies, STAY in the theatre until the end of the credits. There is a final scene with Stark and Dr. Banner/The Hulk (Mark Rufalo), which makes the big final joke.

Gatsby gave me a break from sci fi and comics, letting me get in touch with my inner writer and music lover. The music was a little better than Baz Luhrman’s selection for Moulin Rouge!; it stuck to the time period of the 20s- the Jazz Age. He made the movie wilder and grander, while sticking to every detail in the novel. When Luhrman identifies “The Roaring Twenties”, he makes it roar with delight in this picture.

Courtesy of accessatlanta.com

If only Daisy would wise up and leave her horrible husband for this guy! Courtesy of accessatlanta.com

My absolute favorite scene is where Nick Caraway invites Gatsby and Daisy to tea at his house. Gatsby and Daisy meet once more, seeing each other as if it were the first time they met in college before World War I. Plus, you see Leonardo DiCaprio getting all nervous that he takes a walk in the rain, and he comes back looking like a wetter, much wealthier version of his most famous role, Jack Dawson in Titanic. I about died from a romantic heart attack.

Two words describe this film: Body shocking. And how to describe Cumberbatch? One hot, evil, ruthless bad guy. Courtesy of vibe.com

Two words describe this film: Body shocking. And how to describe Cumberbatch? One hot, evil, ruthless bad guy. Courtesy of vibe.com

And last Sunday, I finally got to see Star Trek: Into Darkness. My first impression before the film was, “This is going to be even better than the first one because of Benedict Cumberbatch playing the bad guy! And Khan is back! Though, I don’t know who…” But when I saw the film, it basically knocked all of the breath out of me.

Yes, I am what the public calls, according to what Jimmy Fallon said on his late show, a “Cumberbitch”, especially after this amazing movie. I never thought someone like him could pull off the Enterprise’s greatest villain than the actor in Wrath of Khan, but J.J. Abrams proved me wrong.

When I saw this scene, I nearly cried. Though I really can't say because of spoilers! Courtesy of ifanboy.com.

When I saw this scene, I nearly cried. Though I really can’t say because of spoilers! But, remember what happens to McCoy’s dead tribble… Courtesy of ifanboy.com.

I really shouldn’t be saying anything about this, especially since my dad and all of his friends who may be reading this are big, major Trek fans. So, all I have to say is, cast aside all of the Star Trek movies and TV shows you’ve seen before the late 90s. Forget them all once again, and keep in mind, Into Darkness is Wrath of Khan in reverse. It is awesome. And you will enjoy it as much as I have if you really enjoyed Abrams’s last Trek movie, regardless of your preconceptions.

Nerd Queen sunI just found out that I now have a total of more than 30 followers, and this is my 40th post. I do hope I’ll hold out even longer to get as many followers and readers like my fellow bloggers who are doing even better. One day, I will be just as successful.

So I’d hear someone say, “They’re a rotten crowd. You’re worth a whole damn bunch put together.” -F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

Love, The Nerd Queen

Leave a Reply

