Dear Jimmy…

Those of you who follow me on Facebook and Twitter, you might have seen quite a few posts or tweets about my favorite late night host. It started with Late Night before he took over for Jay Leno, and now Jimmy Fallon is piling in viewers, selling out every taping in New York, and making so much dough that he’s spending it on thousand dollar suits and yes, a big ol’ truck.
How big is his truck going to be, you ask? Big enough.
He comes up with the funniest jokes, he and his writers, and Lorne Michaels, the big exec, couldn’t be any happier to be running so many primetime comedy shows.
Am I saying I should be mad that the Fallon gets everything whilst I whine and moan? No way, I actually feel elated every time I see his show. Sadly, I can’t seem to catch the show enough because I now have a job with Arrow Child and Family Ministries in conjunction with Office Team.
I do like working there, it’s just that I have to miss the show and wake up early in the morning to get to work. Plus, it’s difficult to get a good night’s sleep after watching an active, live audience, sketch comedy and talk show. Every now and then I miss it, but it’s no big deal and I don’t envy or judge anyone. Plus, today is Good Friday and I love the time off, but for the Tonight Show, it’s stuck in reruns until after Easter is over.
The posts and tweets I send out are merely a joke. I’m trying to settle the score, anyway! Why should people like Stephen Colbert, Jimmy Kimmel, Craig Ferguson, Dave Letterman and Conan O’Brien have all the fun? Traditional old-school bloggers, and I’m sure video bloggers too, should have the same kind of fun on the Internet whilst promoting their work.
But as a blogger and Twitter/Facebook user, and an active one at that (mostly active, since I can’t go online except on the weekends because of my preoccupied occupation- at least I’m getting experience and I’m getting some money out of it!), I’m attempting the impossible –writing as much as I can after work whenever I can and as much as humanly possible to make it through the month of April. After all, it is that time of year again for the spring National Novel Writing Month camp version.
I’ve actually reset my goal to 20K, that’s 2o,000 words, but at this point, I have no idea what to write. All I can think of is writing for this blog as much as possible, along with tidying up my screenplay of Pushing Daisies-Bryan Fuller fanfiction, the first installment of Prisoner of Austen, and figuring out some of my other stories.
I have the library as my readings dealer, giving me my fix of Writer’s Digest magazines and all kinds of fiction novels I can read for research and expanding my vocabulary, or what I like to call a thistle-saurus. (I’ve always thought a thesaurus was a word dinosaur. Rawr.)
As for Jimmy and that Ford truck he’s getting? Well, I just hope he lassos that stupid, unfunny Geico pig, throws it in the back of the pickup, and then serves it with an apple at a luau. Maybe throw in some tropical fruit and poi.
And me? I’ll keep writing and auditing files, auditing files followed by writing, doing it all to my favorite music. I’ve got my MP3 player charged and loaded and the latest Arctic Monkeys CD (AM, if you want to know. My favorite track is number four, “Arabella”) courtesy of the Baltimore public library, and what better passion fuel is better than music? Rock and roll and jazz preferred.
One day… one day I’ll be in New York on business and perhaps pleasure. I’d love to see Studio 6B at 30 Rock… and later catch a good rocking show at the Bowery Ballroom.

Leave a Reply

