Magic to transform

My 101st post is already long overdue, but my next installment of Conversations with Mr. Midnight and my Nerd Queen post on Shore Leave are far from being finished. I guess you could say it’s because I’m very, extremely busy getting ready for my new position at Workforce Technology Center, which begins tomorrow. I’m excited for it, but I know I keep getting sidetracked.

One of my favorite authors, Shanna Swendson, posted a new update to her GoodReads site and her blog on the writing life at WorldCon in Spokane, Washington August 19. In addition to getting used to the time difference, she’s posted some lovely photos of some landscapes in her area where she’ll be participating in some panels and a writer’s workshop.

I very recently got a email notification from my old college Towson University will be hosting the Baltimore Writers’ Conference again, which registration is now open. Last year, I had the opportunity of sending in the best $75 I’ve ever spent on lots of feedback from other writers and editors who attended. I want to rejoin them again, but as much as I’d like to, it would be wise to keep some cash at home just in case.

I’ve also been meaning to post my experiences of that event, but it was nearly a year ago when I attended. As a former journalism major at Towson University, it’s very important that what you write about is done in time. It all has to be written at the time it happened or is coming up soon.

But all of this talk of writing makes me think of what J.K. Rowling said. “We do not need magic to transform our world. We carry all the power we need inside ourselves already.”

It gets you thinking that whatever is inside ourselves to transform anything is like Hermione Granger in transfiguration class. It’s the same with writing. The way Rowling wrote Hogwarts and the wizarding world was something of a magical incantation in a seven part book series. You have your ingredients for a potion already, and you have the words to put to the paper, you just need to find the formula within your mind.

As of right now, the prologue and my first three chapters of my Doctor Who fan-fiction are updated. I’m currently working on the fourth chapter, which should be up and running in a couple of weeks, depending on how busy I’m going to be with work.

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11155919/1/Voodoo-in-Louisiana

Until next time, I’m going to try not to be swamped with packing and getting ready for four days of shade. 🙂 Maybe by that time, I can use my Camp NaNoWriMo coupon to buy the Scrivener software, if it’s possible.

-The Lady in the Blue Box

Leave a Reply

