The first week is always tough

It’s a shame that I can no longer stay up late enough to watch Jimmy Fallon’s Tonight Show anymore, unless it’s a Thursday or Friday night when I go home after a week of training. I’ve heard some gossip that men are getting more things than we ladies are, like televisions in their rooms, but I choose to not listen to it and pass it off as false data. At least I got to do something I had always wanted to do on my first day back home from training: buy a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Tonight Dough, inspired by the great Fallon’s late night show.

Deliciousness.

I have a relatively new haircut, done a few weeks ago, my bags are packed for the next string of four more days of the Workforce Technology Center (behind Morgan State University), and I plan to visit a dear friend very soon, for she has just had a baby a few days ago.

As for my first week at WTC, I’ll admit, I almost felt like there were bars on my dorm room window. Curfew is at 11 p.m., so no one is allowed to stay up late and watch television or play video games after midnight. Then again, the view from my dorm room window is a lovely sight when the sun is out.

There are a few distractions here and there, but I’m willing to set them aside and focus on becoming a better applicant and future employee. We’ve already started on getting to know the people in my work readiness course, including my roommate, who I’d admit is a little on the noisy side with her love of the movie-musical Annie (you know- “The sun’ll come out tomorrow… bet your bottom dollar…”) and lots of hip hop, especially rappers and Beyonce. I’m trying to be considerate of this, since Morgan State University is across the way. I’ll be nice.

I’m also coming to terms with the fact that these people here do want to help. My schedule is working its way around my appointments, especially whenever I have my wisdom teeth done, so I’m actually looking forward to this program. Other times, I feel like I’m stuck in elementary school again, being the only person who dresses appropriately for a business casual setting while everyone else in my class wears jeans and shirts.
Maybe this place is more like a cross between a hospital and summer camp funded by the Girl Scouts, with the way I’m staying for a six week program followed by another seven weeks after my surgery.

As I’m finishing this post on a very late night and I’m already starting to feel dizzy enough to turn off the lights, I’m thinking I could use more than just a getaway on the weekends with my parents. Last year’s Baltimore Writer’s Conference was well worth of my time, as well as any time I’ve been out with my friends. During the course of these six weeks, I plan on going to something eventful and fun again.

My best friend wants to return to the annual Baltimore Renaissance Fair sometime this year, so I thought it would be a good idea to follow suit, if she has room for one more, and if I have enough funds to do so. The other option I have in mind is going back to the writer’s conference again, since I had so much fun there and I’d love to go back to find more information that I may have missed in the past. Either choice should be loads of fun.
As for the six week program, I should sleep on it. Literally. It’s reached that time where A, I need to take it a week at a time and B, I need to get some sleep to stop the spins from happening as I’m writing this.

Sleepy LeadworthBut don’t worry, I won’t become like the Doctor in “Amy’s Choice”, where the Dream Lord plays with the poor Time Lord’s brain with a little birdsong noise that conks him out and wakes him up in another reality.

Nighty night, The Lady in the Blue Box

Playlist selection- some mood music lullabies from Graham Colton and Des’ree

Leave a Reply

