Nerd Queen Journal: Assignments From David Gerrold

David Gerrold, at his Sunday panel, February 14.

David Gerrold, at his Sunday panel, February 14.

Today is a good day to write.

Tomorrow is a good day to write.

And yes, I am speaking like a Klingon for this spectacle that I’ve encountered at the Farpoint Convention at the Radisson Hotel this past Valentine’s/ Presidents’ Day weekend. The only downside to this was, this place was surrounded by Tribbles.

But getting back into my normal voice, I bumped into so many people at the con last weekend. Keith DeCandido had brought some ginger cookies and carefully placed copies of his book The Klingon Art of War far away from the Tribbles at David Gerrold’s table. I also caught up with author and fellow blogger Michael A. Ventrella about a possible story opportunity about different personas of Sherlock Holmes in another short story collection. I’m thinking about making Sherlock into a superhero a la Iron Man. What do you think?

Sean Maher, at his panel, cozying up to his beer glass. :)

Sean Maher, at his panel, cozying up to his beer glass. 🙂

But one of the highlights of my yearly trip to that Timonium hotel 15 minutes from home was when I met both David Gerrold and Sean Maher from Firefly, Serenity and The Playboy Club at the same guest table out front. Gerrold signed my copy of Worlds of Wonder and Sean Maher gave me goosebumps and a case of the blushes when he told me he liked the way I sang Adele’s “Hello” at Friday night karaoke. Somebody up there must like me!

When I reached David Gerrold’s panel and asked a couple questions, he said, “Go write your first million words and you don’t have to ask me that question.” Laugh, laugh, chuckle, chuckle from the audience. How much more embarrassed could I get from that? But I guess he was encouraging me to write because he did say he had fun writing “Trouble with Tribbles” and “More Troubles, More Tribbles” for the original Star Trek and Deep Space Nine. The toughest part of the Tribble episode was deciding what to call the little fuzzy, furry puff balls that purr.

Then again, I probably should have gone up there to sing with “The Browncoats” to sing “The Man They Call Jayne” in front of Sean Maher at karaoke on Friday, as they do every year now. Maher said it was the darn-dest thing he had ever seen that night. I would have loved it to see him sing than that skinny blond tramp who sang Taylor Swift’s “Bad Blood” that night. I won’t tell you who it was; I forgot her name already.

Sean Maher, up at the mic after "The Browncoats" sang their song about Jayne Cobb.

Maher, up at the mic after “The Browncoats” sang their song about Jayne Cobb.

Undaunted by the embarrassment, I also took some notes at a panel I went to that weekend, which gave me a couple ideas. My blog isn’t getting that many readers on here, so I thought a chance meeting at the writers’ panel would give me some pointers on how to step it up with WordPress.

One note I jotted down was to talk to more people and go to more conventions. Well, that’s all good, but I do run into money issues now and then, hence why I’ve never been to San Diego Comic Con.

Another thing I noted was the need to write about things you like to do as a writer, maybe just another one of your hobbies. I had already made another Tardis scarf that I designed for crochet and sold it, so maybe another edition of crochet stitches will be in the works.

I also have an idea for a Doctor Who rewatch series for this blog, which will in turn deconstruct each episode from a holistic and healthy approach to improve the mind and give advice for mental health. Cool, right? I call it “The Doctor Is In”.

That also reminds me, I like to dance! There’s a video I took at WTC where I did Uma Thurman’s dance from Pulp Fiction to the tune of “Uma Thurman” performed by my favorite band. No one got the idea that her dance moves could easily sync to the song, so I’m running with that.

And with that in mind, I didn’t make it to the Ten Forward party, mainly because I knew they were going to play the worst music ever (I abhor Taylor Swift, Ke$ha and the “Moped” song), but at least I got some snapshots of karaoke and masquerade.

What do you do when you see a little boy dressed as a Star Wars droid? Enter him in the contest!

What do you do when you see a little boy dressed as a Star Wars droid? Enter him in the contest!

Check it out: Star Lord with Rocket and Gamora and her baby Groot in the potted plant! :)

Check it out: Star Lord with Rocket and Gamora and her baby Groot in the potted plant! 🙂

Alice in Wonderland meets the Queen of Hearts. Winner of the Best Workmanship award at the masquerade.

Alice in Wonderland meets the Queen of Hearts. Winner of the Best Workmanship award at the masquerade.

A lovely dancing Harley Quinn, dancing to Panic! At the Disco.

A lovely dancing Harley Quinn, dancing to Panic! At the Disco.

And this is a very attractive cosplayer, not in the masquerade, but still wonderfully dressed as the Tenth Doctor.

And this is a very attractive cosplayer, not in the masquerade, but still wonderfully dressed as the Tenth Doctor.

Until next time, keep on being a nerd.

With love, The Nerd Queen

Playlist selection- some actual dance music

Leave a Reply

