That voodoo…

At long last, my Doctor Who fan fiction is complete.

It’s just what I mean. It feels too good to write that for my blog and I’m exhilarated with adrenaline that it’s finally finished. The only problem is; I don’t think it’s good enough to be sold on bookshelves. No one wants to rehash old characters from a British series, especially if it’s been written by an American.

Nevertheless, Voodoo in Louisiana is up and ready to view on Fanfiction.net. (Spoiler alert: Jenny the Doctor’s Daughter is back, with a brand new look that screams Frenchy from Grease. And it’s really funny when the Twelfth Doctor meets Eleven.)

And speaking of Doctor Who, I now have the second half of season nine, which I haven’t seen yet. I haven’t even seen the Christmas special where Twelve is reunited with River Song. I haven’t even seen The Abominable Bride, the Christmas special of Sherlock, which I meant to see ages ago. This is what happens when you don’t have cable and you only have Maryland Public Television and network channels instead of satellite or Xfinity to give you BBC America.

Basically, I’ve been getting my BBC and Doctor Who shows from the public library to see everything I missed.

In the meantime, I’ve been writing like a maniac. My word count goal has been set to 15,000 words, but I’m already almost at the halfway mark with about 7,000 words written. My goal was to get started with my steampunk-Regency novel Nightmare in Northanger, book one in the Prisoner of Austen trilogy, which demands a total rewrite from page one. I’ve already written my first draft, originally titled N is for Northanger and Northanger Raspberry Royale, but then I decided that it still wasn’t good enough to be a good enough novel to place on the bookshelf, and much like what Neil Gaiman said on the Nerdist podcast, no one is ever going to see your first draft. Anything you do can be fixed.

So for right now, I’m just rewriting the novel from the first page. I know it’s pretty difficult to start from scratch now, but it’s something that has to be done. I’m reimagining the whole story from start to finish, which is pretty magical, even when I’m not too inspired.

From Disney's Tangled. Watercolor painting.

From Disney’s Tangled. Watercolor painting.

Here’s the little song from Disney’s Tangled that I remember: Paper gleam and glow/ let your power shine/ make the pen write words/ bring back what dream was mine/ heal what has been cut/ change the plot’s design/ save the characters lost/ bring back what dream was mine… what dream was mine…

I’ve gotten so many likes on Twitter from rephrasing that quote of poetry for writers. @NaNoWordSprints thought it was delightful that they re-tweeted it. Disney Princess fans unite!

So while my mother is on vacation and I’m thinking of how to work out the fourth chapter of my Jane Austen inspired heroines, I’m hoping to make something of myself.

I’m still kicking myself that I only have 50 followers on Twitter. Most published authors have thousands. The famous authors have millions. And while other authors have tweeted thousands of tweets, I’ve only had about 700. I need to work on that to bridge the gap.

I guess it’s a good thing that I’m making a habit of tweeting more things on a daily basis. I guess that’s part of the writing life.

-The Lady in the Blue Box

Only a month before Balticon 50! Time to celebrate…

Playlist selection- fun music to dance to from the 80s.

Leave a Reply

