Is it July yet?

Right now, I’m patiently waiting for July to get here soon.

But after taking a long walk to the library today, I felt like it was already summer. The sun came out after a whole weekend of rain and I was sweating by the time I got to the library. Maybe it was the humidity. It was definitely the humidity.

Don’t you just loathe Maryland weather? One minute it’s warm and sunny, the next, it’s almost as cold as November and there are heavy clouds and rain all afternoon. The weather in the Mid-Atlantic just doesn’t know when to make up its mind.

On the bright side, Camp NaNoWriMo for April is just about over, because it’s officially May. I’ve already won once again, totaling almost 16,000 words in a single month this year, going for my fourth time in a row winning for Camp April. I’m glad I didn’t set my word count too high this year, or I would have never won.

The next Camp will be held in July, but I don’t know if I’ll participate since I’m usually busy all month. Shore Leave is going to be held a little earlier in the month, sometime before my birthday, and I’m already excited to meet my favorite Doctor Who companion Amy Pond- the lovely Karen Gillan. I’m trying to come up with a good question to ask her, but I still can’t think of anything other than why couldn’t she swim in the deleted scene that Neil Gaiman originally wrote for “The Doctor’s Wife”, but got cut.

Also, I’ll be 28 years old on July 25th. In two months, I will be two years away from being 30. I’m terrified, and at the same time excited for the phone calls I’ll get from a couple of my friends, if they want to do something then.

My birthday’s on a Monday, though. Worst day of the week to celebrate.

But again, it’s May, the lusty month of May. In less than four weeks, it’ll be Memorial Day weekend, the weekend of the 50th Balticon convention, held in Downtown Baltimore. Bestselling author George R.R. Martin, author of the book-series-turned-HBO-drama Game of Thrones, will be there, and I will be there, hoping to score a few dances with gentlemen at the steampunk ball.

I just hope I finish my Prisoner of Austen costume in time.

Then again, with the weather we’ve been having, I am craving a small Frosty at Wendy’s. And yet again, I need to watch my waist because I think I’ve gotten too big to squeeze into my favorite pair of jeans anymore. I even went to Walmart to find a pair of jeans that would fit me, and a size 10 petite was too tight on me. And that’s the size my mother wears.

It got me thinking- Why are all the places I shop at cut their pants and skirts too small for real people to wear?

The last time I went to see the doctor and had myself weighed, I was at 140 pounds. I used to be 125, but I guessed the medication I was on made me gain at least 15 pounds of water weight. I can’t lose it, even though I’ve been watching how I eat carefully now (especially when my dad puts a donut in my face and expects me to eat it) and I’ve been walking to the library more often. Walking should help you lose weight, right?

But earlier last week, I found an article from Time magazine while I was waiting for my therapist to pull me into her office. Mattel, the makers of Barbie, had decided to give Barbie a drastic new look in three new shapes: petite, tall and curvy. The curvy Barbie caught my attention, though I wouldn’t say she’s “fat”. I figured the Barbie company had finally decided to break down barriers and get people to stop getting upset about other people’s body shapes, comparing them to the doll.

The article also suggested that the new Barbie would make children learn to accept other people for their shapes and sizes. This would promote kids to stop bullying others in school because of height or weight. I’m still jealous of tall Barbie, though, because I can never wear beach dresses with very long skirts.

I’m thinking if anything, they should make a new doll that looks like girls with different body types, looking just like the kids themselves. My Barbie doll would have red hair, short figure, and a pudgy belly and wide hips like the curvy Barbie. It would be a cross between curvy and petite.

But for now, I’ve actually got a better idea for the curvy Barbie. I want to make a beautiful crochet ball gown that fits the curvy Barbie, and call it the Princess Roxie dress. There are a lot of Princess Barbie dolls out there: Butterfly Princess, Sleeping Beauty, etc. And since the Disney dolls were sold to Hasbro, it would be a good idea for the doll makers at Mattel to make a princess doll on the chubby side.

Remember Frances Hodgson Burnett’s A Little Princess? Sara Crewe said that every little girl is a princess. That means every woman, big, small, tall, average, fat or pudgy, deserves the “princess” title. Even my mother believes this.

To sum this up, I strongly believe that if I purchase a curvy Barbie doll, make her a beautiful crochet dress that fits, and call her a princess, I would come to terms with my body image. It would be a very good thing to boost my confidence and positive affirmations that I’ve been neglecting so long.

Not every princess has to have the perfect body. No matter how much you weigh, you are still the princess of your world.

I think I want a curvy Barbie doll as a birthday present, just for giggles.

Leave a Reply

