TGFSL- Thank God for Shore Leave

The time has come again for another Shore Leave, and I’m at a loss for words on the last six stories I’m writing for my book.

“Alice and the Gentleman” is done, and I have to say it’s one of my favorite pieces to write as I had fun with it. But there is a handful of other stories that I’m still stuck on because they’re stuck in the early stages. For some of them, I’ve already written the ending and I need to write the tumultuous middle. The rest of them are still stuck on page six or seven, and only one of them is still stuck at page one.

So, in the words of the Mad Hatter, I want to know why a raven is like a writing desk… I have no idea.

The short stories that are complete are as follows: Broken Hearted Dreamer, Alice and the Gentleman, Galaxine, The Zombie Bachelorette, and The Crystal Door.

The stories I still need to finish writing are: The Eagle Problem, Mad Sounds, Finding Chuck Bartowski, Anne of Starfleet, Abducted By Aliens Who Saved the Planet, and Thumbelina At Night. That’s a lot of writing to do.

Meanwhile, it’s Thursday, and it’s officially Shore Leave weekend. I’m excited about Saturday, as it will be the day I’m going to meet Karen Gillan, “Amy Pond” from my favorite nerd show about a time travelling, bow tie wearing alien with a blue box. It also makes me wonder about the article I read online that Matt Smith may be returning to Doctor Who in another regeneration, possibly the 13th.

This is what I have to say to that: Steven Moffat wouldn’t dare do something stupid like that. He’d probably do it in a flashback and keep Peter Capaldi as the 12th incarnation of the Doctor. After all, Capaldi is doing a wonderful job as Twelve. Keep ‘im.

Or, what the writers could do with the new season of Doctor Who is have only one episode where they bring the 11th Doctor back and he works in tandem with Twelve. Now why didn’t I think of that? Oh, wait. I did!

Voodoo In Louisiana, babe. Read Me >>>

But getting back to the subject at hand, Shore Leave starts tomorrow night, so I’m hoping that my nails are ready for nail polish and it won’t be too hot outside to wear my outfit I picked out to look like Amy Pond. At Farpoint, I made a mistake by telling everyone how much I hated Taylor Swift after someone just sang the worst Swift song ever written at karaoke. And I didn’t stay for Ten Forward because the music absolutely sucked with all the hip hop and dubstep they were playing. I had to leave.

I found out that no matter where I go to these things, I’m always going to be followed by bad music. Idiots love their annoying sounds, like the off-key saxophone followed by a bunch of slutty girls whining, “Give it to me, I’m worth it”. I’m guessing most people have learned how to go tone-deaf while I’m the only one with perfect pitch and a sensitive ear when it comes to sound.

Somebody, please kill Taylor Swift. Please? Today? I never want to hear her voice ever again.

But since that won’t happen, I guess I’ll be sitting outside the dance hall listening to my iPod of Fall Out Boy, Ingrid Michaelson, Paramore, Magic!, Black Keys, and KT Tunstall. I promised myself that I would stop doing Ten Forward when it stops being fun, and guess what? It just hit me. It’s not fun anymore.

But the conventions are still a lot of fun, either way. I just want to see Karen Gillan and the masquerade. I actually have a lot more fun at Balticon when I help the techies there.

Yeah, Balticon is much more fun because of the steampunk and Regency dances. I love classic dances as opposed to “grinding”.

But my plan for this summer is this. I want to finish all six stories by the end of the year and then start writing and sending query letters. I promised myself to not send anything until any of my books was done, and I am going to do just that. I can’t give up now.

This year depends on it.

Playlist selection- for the punk rockers

And more Paramore-

Leave a Reply

