Afterthoughts

After my last post about Willy Wonka, it kind of got me thinking, which is just as equally dangerous. I’m writing about multiple things on steampunk, speculative fiction, even a young adult story that features superheroes in high school, only it’s not like Disney’s Sky High. It has a little more influence from the Marvel and DC comics, particularly the movies.

Also, about Wonka, I’ve noticed that the contract the children had to sign was saying, “We are not liable for any accidents or weather conditions that affect these children in any way. If you did something, you will be held responsible, and that will be your fault.”

And Grandpa Joe was going, “Sign away, Charlie!” as if there was nothing wrong with it, and you couldn’t even take the time to read the fine print at the bottom. At the end of the movie, Wonka explains what the fine print says that all the prizes would become void if the child who signed it stole something from the factory, in this case, Fizzy Lifting Drinks. So the only way for Charlie to prove his apology was to do a random act of kindness- in giving back his Everlasting Gobstopper.

After all, at the beginning of the movie, Charlie used his first payday from his newspaper route to pay for a loaf of bread, and he gave the rest of his money to his mother and Grandpa Joe to pay for pipe tobacco. He didn’t spend it all on candy like normal kids did, for his family was very poor. His father was dead, his mother worked as a laundry washer, and his grandparents were completely bedridden, until Charlie brought home his Golden Ticket that got Grandpa Joe out of bed.

I also noticed that there weren’t very many Nerd Queen rewatch or review posts as I would like to have on here. I also haven’t been keeping up with The Doctor is In very much either. We need to change that.

Over the next couple weeks or so, I’m going to be posting more of the Nerd Queen by reviewing Star Trek Into Darkness and Sherlock season one. I’ve seen both of them before, but I’m hoping to get some more inspiration out of them. I’m currently stumped on half of the short stories I’m completing for my collection Supernova Entropy; two of them involve Sherlock Holmes as a superhero in America and the other one involves Star Trek but with a storyline similar to Jane Austen’s Persuasion.

A lot of things are coming up this fall and they’re coming up pretty fast. Next month is my 10-year reunion with some of my high school friends, and there’s Halloween. And after Halloween is National Novel Writing Month and Thanksgiving, the holiday that everyone seems to forget because everyone’s doing their Christmas shopping and pushing the Christmas ads when they SHOULDN’T BE! Thanksgiving comes first! Don’t ruin it for me!

walking-dead-santaOr maybe I should start thinking about the next Walking Dead episode called “Halloween”, where the zombies come out at night to eat trick-or-treating children, only to be stopped by Jesus and Santa Claus.

Is that clever or what?

I’m getting ahead of myself here. It’s only September. Kids are back in school. College has already started. It’s time for Monday Blogs on Twitter.

But the good news about all this is, I finally have a costume to wear for Halloween. I thought I wasn’t going to do any parties or do anything special for Halloween this year because I didn’t have the money for a new costume and I had no idea what to wear. Then my boyfriend took me to a Spirit Halloween store and changed my mind.

This is what I’m wearing:

steampunk-fantasy-costume

It is a bit much. I’m not crazy about the goggles because they’re uncomfortable against my head and I can’t see out of them, but the rest of the costume is pretty. My boyfriend loved it when I tried it on. I guess I’m keeping it for this year.

Guess what my boyfriend is going as? I’ll give you a hint: see my last post and play the video at the bottom with the song “Pure Imagination”. He already has a purple coat, a hat, and cane, so all he needs is the purple flower shirt and a giant, frilly gold bow tie.

Maybe I should have gone as a candy person, with a lollipop headband and a candy cane or swizzle stick staff. Then it would have been a couple’s costume. Then again, I wouldn’t know how to make it. I have no sewing machine.

Now, if only I can find a hat for the costume I have…

I’m sure I’ll find something. Until next time, keep dreaming.

-The Lady in the Blue Box

Playlist selection- This song is still stuck in my head from the new Meghan Trainor album

Leave a Reply

