Somber September

As the light goes out earlier and fall is drawing nearer, it’s becoming harder to write.

This weekend, I had a very nice time with my boyfriend, only to be followed by an emergency mediation with one of my friends, who was entering a very depressed state. And tonight, I was almost stranded in a parking lot because my mother put the key in the ignition of our car and the car wouldn’t start. Luckily, a security officer was there to help give the car a jump start so we could go home, but I don’t know how my parents will get to where they need to go tomorrow.

The nights are slowly getting shorter, and with the rain today, I think it’s finally starting to get colder. My computer Simone is being slow, probably because it’s more like a notebook than a computer, and I don’t think I have enough disc space on her to run antivirus. What I might have to do is get rid of some programs that this computer came with that I really don’t need, like TripAdvisor and Skype.

Though I’ve already watched “Study in Pink” from Sherlock season one, I haven’t had the energy to write a Nerd Queen installment on the explosive episode. I haven’t even touched my library copy of Into Darkness because of these random emergencies. And right now, I feel a little sad that summer’s ending already, even though I’m already excited for Halloween.

The thing is, I don’t want to face another winter. Sometimes, I wish I could go to Hawaii until March or April, so I could avoid the blizzards and the bad weather. But wishing doesn’t get much done, so I’ve got to get back to writing.

I’ve promised myself that I’d finish a book of something by the time the year is over, then get it published. More than half the year 2016 is over, Supernova Entropy is halfway done, and none of my novels are close to being finished. I’ve already received an offer to submit my work through their website, which would go to numerous publishers, like a literary agent, but I told them via Twitter that once I have something completed, I will give it to them.

It’s not a matter of how I will be able to get published. I’ve already got someone who’s interested in my work, along with more than 100 followers on Twitter, including bestselling author Gail Carriger, author of the Soulless books and The Custard Protocol series. It’s a matter of when I will get this done.

I want to be done and getting published by the time I’m 30. But with my writing far from being done, it looks like the time I’ll be finished will be a long time away, past my thirties. My brain tends to distract me when I try to write, that’s why.

The brain static bothers me. My brain makes me think of movies and television, I start thinking of songs that ring in my ears when I wake up for no reason at all, and it makes it absolutely hard to write. I don’t hear voices, but I do hear things going on inside my brain, and I can’t turn it off.

I guess you could say that is one of the big issues with fighting a mental illness.

Plus, I have a major issue with Disney when it comes to buying a Disney princess movie on DVD, like Sleeping Beauty, Princess and the Frog, Little Mermaid, and Tangled, all my favorites. They all cost $15 or higher, and nothing as low as my price range of $3-5. The prices will never come down because parents would bend over backwards to pay big money to surprise their kids.

At least I have Don Bluth’s Anastasia and Thumbelina. Both the Russian princess and the tiny princess are very strong female characters, even though children of this generation hardly know them today.

I’d better get back to writing. I don’t know how much longer I’ll hold out for the long winter that’s ahead. I just hope it isn’t brutal as it was in 2015.

Playlist selection-

And a song for September-

Leave a Reply

