Wish I was there

Well, sadly I’m still recovering from my bad throat, so there’s not going to be a movie tonight.

I was really looking forward to seeing Benedict Cumberbatch on the big screen outdoors, with his great big red cape and flinging a huge electric mystical whip. And I was really looking forward to seeing the scene at the end of the credits and this funny scene:

Bad Guy: You’ll die protecting this world, mister…?

Doctor Strange: (correcting him) Doctor.

Bad Guy: (confused) Mister Doctor?

Doctor Strange: It’s… Strange.

Bad Guy: Really? Who am I to judge?

I smiled when I saw that scene. It took me a minute, and then I got it. Villains can be so funny sometimes. It’s fun to laugh at the bad guys when they’re being silly, like the Joker and Harley Quinn… sometimes.

Or moreover, it’s still pretty funny that one of Ultron’s favorite songs comes from Pinocchio. It was a little creepy watching Avengers: Age of Ultron when James Spader started singing, “I’ve got no strings to hold me down… to make me smile or make me frown…” But he was a good villain with a sense of humor.

In short, the Russo Brothers did an excellent job. Still doesn’t change the fact that I can’t see Doctor Strange at the drive in because the top of my throat feels like it’s been rubbed with acid. It still hurts to yawn or swallow and I still can’t sing, one of my favorite things to do.

On the bright side, my boyfriend came over and surprised me today in the nicest way possible. He brought me flowers, Twinning’s Earl Grey tea, and a carton of orange juice. I knew we were running low on juice and my parents were about to go to the store to get some, but he did not have to get juice for me.

Safe to say this, he loves me. I wanted to whine, “awwwww!” but my throat was too sore for that.

So now, I have to get back to writing more of whatever it is I’m writing, including a short story about Sherlock Holmes having superpowers. I got the idea while watching Superman: Man of Steel with my dad as I was thinking about the Sherlock series that I had just seen. I also have a copy of Conan Doyle’s works of Sherlock Holmes in a complete hardcover volume, as a Christmas present from my best friend (thank you, Kerensa!).

It’s called “The Eagle Problem”, just like Doyle’s “Final Problem” where Sherlock and Moriarty fall over the waterfalls to their deaths, only the fall is set in modern day New York. And the fall is from the Freedom Tower at the One World Trade Center where 9/11 happened, a 1,776 foot drop.

Maybe if I have more chicken soup and let my throat rest a while, I’ll be able to see the new Marvel movie later. The theatres are probably too busy with sold out shows anyway.

Good news is, when I’m feeling better, hopefully by Wednesday, I’ll be going to a painting event at the Belvedere Hotel on the 13th Floor. It should be a fairly nice evening of wine, dinner, and art, of course. I do love a nice view of Baltimore City from the penthouse restaurant. It really is lovely.

Til I get better,

The Nerd Queen

Playlist selection- The only kind of country music I love is from these guys…

Leave a Reply

