“Nothing is as scary as Election Day…”

For this post, I quoted Norah Jones from her song “My Dear Country”:

“Twas Halloween and the ghosts were out
And everywhere they’d go, they shout
And though I covered my eyes I knew
They’d go away
But fear’s the only thing I saw
And three days later was clear to all
That nothing is as scary as Election Day”

I really want to change the lyrics to this:

“Fear’s the only thing I saw
And eight days later was clear to all
That nothing is as terrible as Election Day
But the day after is darker
And darker and darker it goes
Who knows, maybe the plans will change
Who knows, maybe Trump’s not deranged!
The newsmen know what they know, but they…
We believed in our candidate,
Even more, Clinton’s the one we hate
I needed someone I could shake
On Election Day…
Who knows, maybe it’s a nightmare
Who knows if I’ll wake up at the fair!”

It’s a really touching song that Norah Jones wrote about President George W. Bush when he was president, before Obama, that maybe he’s not such a bad president after all. But then the nightmares started. The living, breathing daily nightmares that happened on the news and they just wouldn’t go away.

And after this election, I proudly wore my ‘I voted’ sticker on my purse:

pict0076

But the election didn’t go as well for me as I hoped. I wanted another Democrat in the White House. It didn’t matter that I hated Hillary; I honestly wanted to vote for Bernie Sanders. Everyone’s angry about the election, and so am I, but I’m going to try not to think about it.

At long last, I’m going to see Doctor Strange tonight at the drive in. I will soon post a Nerd Queen review on Monday for Monday Blogs. Hope that’s ok with everyone.

I’m very excited for this movie, as I’ve heard very good things about it. However, I did hear that it was much better in 3D and IMAX, so maybe we should have gone for the regular movie theatre showing and asked for 3D.

But maybe I’ll be able to see it again with my family later, if they’re willing to see it in IMAX for a Sunday matinee. Then again, my mother cried and whimpered last night when we saw Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. My parents hated the film because it was too gruesome and they thought Tim Burton “has a serious mental problem”. I thought it was a pretty good movie, but only good to see once or I would get nightmares.

We’ll see what happens tonight after my romantic date. Drive in dates are the most romantic of all, and this will be my first one at Bengie’s. Should be fun.

Good thing my bacterial throat plague is no more.

Playlist selection-

Leave a Reply

