Winter is near…

I’m not overly fond of the weather we’re going to have in the next few days.

In nine days, it will be the end of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) for the year. This Thursday is Thanksgiving. The weather just got colder, and colder still, so that meant that I had to start getting rid of my happy t shirts and blouses and pulling out those turtlenecks and warm sweaters.

And a few days ago, I just found out I’m allergic to an antibiotic, Augmentin. And it wasn’t because I was developing a rash from a pre-winter itch or eczema.

The rash started when I was taking a shower two weekends ago, after the doctor prescribed me that drug to take with food to get rid of my bacterial pharyngitis. The red bumps were on my belly and they were starting to blossom on my legs. And it itched like dry winter skin. I thought it wasn’t a big deal.

Then it started spreading to my arms. The redness was all over my thighs and now it was starting on my wrists. The doctor then told me that it was probably the medicine I was still taking as directed for 10 days, and it could have been any of the substances in that drug- amoxicillin, penicillin, or another antibiotic that was in that combination called Augmentin.

But I told the doctor, I’m not allergic to amoxicillin or any of the ingredients of the flu vaccine. I had my flu shot last month! I’m very resilient when it comes to antibiotics, anything from azithromycin for bronchitis to Keflex, the stuff they give you to treat and prevent infection from dental surgery.

Looks like I’m allergic to one thing, which makes me itch like mild eczema. The doctor gave me some Claritin to take to stop the rash and itch, and told me to stop taking the antibiotic. It was the day before I was supposed to stop the medicine too, because I was about to run out.

And last week, I found that I was not in the writing mood too much. I haven’t seen my therapist in more than two weeks because she somehow broke her elbow, which made me worry about her. I hope she’s ok, but I’m also worried about my well being since I haven’t been flowing with creative juices since I wrote that epic review of the newest Marvel movie.

But that was last week’s post. I need to write more. I just didn’t feel inspired last week because of how miserable things were at home: I just got over an allergic reaction to medicine, my mom is now unemployed and struggling to find a new job, the weather is getting worse, the sun is going down earlier, and worst of all…

The toxic month of February is almost here.

If you remember last year, February 2015 was when I lost my baby man, my five-year-old longhair dachshund D’Artagnon to kidney failure. Worst of all, I lost him Valentine’s Day weekend, towards the end of Farpoint. This year in February, I lost my roommate and I lost my trust and faith in Workforce Technology Center, WTC, for personal reasons. I’d rather not say why.

And February is the coldest month of the year, where my mom is so terrified of going outside and freezing to death, along with the pain she gets in her hands and feet. I’m not a fan of the cold either.

I remember before I was diagnosed that I used to love the snow. At Farpoint one year, I had a super fabulous time at the hotel that weekend, drinking hot chocolate in the Con Suite, learning tai chi with Buck Rogers superstar Erin Gray, and then going home to rest for the entire week while schools were closed. That was freshman year of high school and I loved every day I was away.

Now when there’s a blizzard, I just stay indoors and wait for it to thaw. I can’t stand windy conditions, for they mess up my hair, and I don’t like how the cold pierces my eyes and the tip of my nose.

And now that I think about it, I’m worried that I almost quoted George R.R. Martin, whenever he says, “Winter is coming.”

I don’t like that Game of Thrones thought.

At least I wrote something for Monday this week. I may or may not have another post this week due to the holiday, but I’ll try writing a little more.

Now, if only I can maneuver around the plot sinkholes in my novels and short stories…

Happy Thanksgiving,

The Lady in the Blue Box

Playlist selection-

Leave a Reply

