December is here

It’s the last day of November, which means December is tomorrow.

I’m already scared of what’s to come in February, which I eventually brought up at support group last week. I also brought up the fact that I’m stuck on all three novels and my book of short stories with nowhere to go with them. I want to finish a book by the end of this year.

It’s already the end of November’s National Novel Writing Month and I haven’t written a word of Supernova Entropy, my superhero novel Super Frost, or Nightmare in Northanger, book one of Prisoner of Austen. I’m very slowly finishing the end of Royally Flushed, but I’m far from finishing the whole thing.

So when I came to support group with these problems, two women gave me some insightful ideas. One of them was to plan something fun in February, just to get my mind off things that make me depressed that month. I could do something with my friends, but I’m not sure if any of my friends will be available to do something that month. Plus, there’s the annual Farpoint convention on Presidents’ Day weekend.

I guess I could plan something with my boyfriend for Valentine’s Day. I won’t be single and lonely anytime this year, so it should be romantic.

As for the novel writing, someone suggested “future pacing”. I have no idea what that entails. I might as well look it up.

“Future pacing is a type of Mental Imagery, a powerful way to anchor or connect changes and resources to future situations or a particular event (such as a sporting performance).” –nlp-mentor.com

That kind of gives me some idea of what it is. So how does it work?

The steps to future pacing and imagining yourself doing something sounds pretty easy, but I don’t see how they apply to writing a novel. On the website, it says to imagine four possible situations that could happen in the future that would trigger the old behavior. Then step two says, “Imagine stepping into the first situation. See, hear, feel (as in touch not emotion), smell and/or taste what you would experience in the first situation, out of your own eyes. That is associated to the context.”

Then it goes into how your response would happen and what changes you have to make. This is good for problems and situations in your life that could impact your mental illness, but it’s not the kind of future pacing I was looking for.

But as I read on, I realized that maybe if I set little goals and look at what future pacing will do for me, I can make a whole novel by New Year’s Eve, and then be on my way to selling my first book to a publishing house.

I guess I’m already on my way to a brighter, more positive future. If I can find the time to do all of these things.

-The Lady in the Blue Box

Playlist selection-

Leave a Reply

