Looking Up

“Things are looking up, oh finally!” -Paramore

I am so happy right now, I could dance around.

WriteandAuthor.com just published my interview with them. And it looks wonderful.

You can also see some additional things on there, such as some advice and a writing prompt that I’ve given, if you’re really focused on writing. And allow me to reiterate: it’s never too early and it’s never too late to start or finish your first novel or book of poetry.

The reason why I say that is because some of my writing friends think that a writing career is not good for anyone unless you’re old enough to be retired. Nobody gets published until they’re middle aged or until they’re in their 50s. So they give up writing and assume that there’s no more hope for them to write until they’re much older or end up never getting published at all.

But here’s the thing, there are some young people who have gotten published who have died within recent years. One of them was a poetess from my homeland of Baltimore, until she killed herself after struggling with bipolar disorder type two. She never even made it to her 30th birthday, and she only wrote one thing. Another writer out of one of the north eastern states only got published after she was killed by a drunk driver, and it was a book of nonfiction. She was a distinguished graduate of an Ivy League school, too.

That said, if you’ve got more than one idea to write, you just can’t quit now. If you think you’re too young to write, think again. Christopher Paolini got published with his first book of fantasy Eragon when he was only 15 years old, and at that time he had already graduated from high school. Honestly, I wish I got published at the age of 15 or 16, but I was in the middle of having multiple panic attacks at that age, because my parents were having financial difficulties and I was getting bullied by almost everyone in school.

In high school, I was going through some very dark times, which is why I was lucky enough to get by with a 3.3 GPA and graduate at 17.

I’ve been writing Super Frost since I was in college in 2007. It’s 2017 now, and I intend to finish it by the end of this month. I am going to get published by the time I’m 30 and I’m not going to give up so easily. It’s about time that I finished writing about my teenage superheroes, my Disney princesses in a 21st century world, my own steampunk Elizabeth Bennet, and everyone else I’ve written about.

I won’t die until I have all of them on paper. I won’t let my passion of writing die either. I will continue to write until my hands don’t work anymore. That is final.

So believe me when I say don’t give up until someone hears your story.

That statement sounds so good, I want to say it to high school and college students at my alma mater, Perry Hall High, and Towson University too. And I would address all students of all ethnicities, ages, and majors, to not give up and live their dreams.

And believe me, that feels good to say.

-The Lady in the Blue Box

Now to watch Kubo with my parents and later, Doctor Strange with the boyfriend, again…

Playlist selection- see my quote at the top of this page

Leave a Reply

