It’s the 200th post!

I can’t believe I made it to 200 posts in such a short amount of time.

Also, what I really don’t believe is that I got to 200 followers and more than 2,000 tweets on Twitter. I don’t know how I did it, but I certainly had a lot to say. I guess the twos have it. 200 (blog), 200 (followers), and 2,000 (tweets).

Today at the Hussman Center, people were very shocked when I told them I was writing a novel and I was very popular on Twitter. Most people following me on Twitter are writers and self/ indie publishers anyway. The only exceptions to that group are my close friends from CCBC and Towson, people from National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo), and an awesome writer scouting agency called Wisdom House Books. What Wisdom House Books does is that they find writers like me, representing them, and they give them to publishers and editors to publish your book in a big way.

They contacted me through Twitter and said, “We would love to represent you.” I said my first novel manuscript wasn’t finished yet, so they would have to wait until all the writing was done. That was months ago, in August, 2016.

I’m currently still on chapter nine of my novel, but I’m thinking I should be able to finish it by the end of next month for my Camp NaNo project this April. I should be able to exceed my word count goal without a problem, if I write more than 500 words a day. Then again, I wonder how I would be able to do the same as I did the very first year I won a Camp in April- where I wrote more than 30,000 words.

But that means I also cheated. I wrote blog posts of this blog and included them in my final validation of words that I wrote at the end of the month. I also jumped around and wrote lots more for my other novels and short stories. My main focus was on Prisoner of Austen, but I also focused on some of my other stories.

This time, I really need to focus on one thing: getting Super Frost done. It’s been 10 years since I started writing the first draft. It’s time to get published.

Then again, it might not be ready yet. I spoke to someone on NaNoWriMo another day, and she said she would be happy to be my very first beta reader to look at my work. I was ecstatic when she said she’d be happy to read it when it was ready. I gave her my contact information as she traded her email with me, and when the story is complete, I’m sending her my latest draft of my novel. I’m sure she’ll love it.

In the meantime, I’m going to narrow my focus and not blog so much, this time not including my blog posts in my final word count. I’ve been cheating for far too long. It’s time that I get past chapter nine of my novel and finally make it to chapter 15 at the very end.

Speaking of posts, I also wrote a Nerd Queen review of Kong Skull Island, which I will post soon. And after watching that movie, I have to say, my fantasies of Tom Hiddleston are getting wilder. I really don’t want to say this, but… Hiddleston is smart, funny, talented, and incredibly attractive.

For the last time, I am NOT a FANGIRL!

Frak.

Happy 200th post,

The Lady in the Blue Box

For my 200th post, here’s an awesome playlist selection from an old friend who used to be in a local Baltimore band-

2 thoughts on “It’s the 200th post!

Leave a Reply

