Twenty grand

I’m inching closer to my word count goal. More than 80 percent of the way there.

I have a word count goal sitting at 25,000 words and I’m letting it stay there, because I think I’m getting closer to finishing my story, with more than 50,000 words already written of my novel. This month alone, I’ve written slightly more than 20K, 20 grand, you might call it. I’m getting dangerously close to that final word count, which is very exciting.

It also means that Super Frost: Confessions of a Teenage Superhero is nearly complete. Out of all 15 chapters, I’m already writing the 14th. I’ve also added a prologue to the complete story, backing up the entire tale of how these super kids came to be.

I have this to say: Oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy!!!!! Or maybe I should do it like Nick Frost in Shawn of the Dead: “YEEEAH, BOYEEEEE!” *Giggles

Ok, I’ve had my laugh. Now back down to beeswax. I just answered some very good questions about this new novel in my Camp NaNo cabin, which I found were awesome, some easy to answer, and some a little bit more challenging. But I’m not afraid of a challenge.

One question was: What was the most surprising thing one of your minor characters did?

And I answered with something like this- There is a nasty surprise for Violet. The friend she trusted at the beginning of the story is actually working for the main villain of the story. I’m actually writing this scene as I’m thinking about this. Violet is about to find out that her friend from middle school, Mylana, is a suck up wannabe popular girl, and she would do anything to follow in the footsteps of Violet’s sworn enemy, her ex boyfriend.

She gets over it, though, because she finds out who her real friends are, and she also gets a very sweet boyfriend. She doesn’t want to be one of the cool kids, no matter how much she’s tempted into popularity and fame, she wants to be her own hero, and that’s exactly what she becomes.

Sounds like something you might want to read, even though it’s for teen readers? Well, I know it might be soon to be saying this, but when I go to Wisdom House Books for them to set me up with a publishing plan, I want to tell them I have a great idea for a publisher, one word, starts with M. Marvel. I want Super Frost to become a great novel and get as much publicity as the novel She-Hulk Diaries.

The reason why I want Marvel to take a look at my pages is three reasons. 1) I want to write sequels, and I want to be able to do that with the Avengers in mind. 2) I could actually see this as a graphic novel or comic book, which is what Marvel sells the most.

And the third big reason is another dream of mine to tie it in with the Avengers. DC Comics has Young Justice. Marvel doesn’t have a team of young teenagers with abilities. It’s just the X Men and the guys at Xavier’s School, which is not related to the Avengers at all (unless you’re into the comics), and the Avengers stand alone.

That’s why I want Violet and her friends involved. We don’t have a Young Avengers! And with my story, in the prologue, there is a really cool backstory to how Violet and her friends and enemies came to be!

Seriously, why hasn’t Victoria Alonso at Marvel Studios called me to make this into a movie franchise? I mean, really.

I have big plans for Violet Harris. Big. Plans. Just you wait.

Other than that, I enjoyed my Easter Sunday. I avoided my grandmother, had brunch and mimosas with my boyfriend, and tried to go easy on the chocolate. Sadly, Easter came with some bad news.

I’ve lost my internet connection. My parents were basically scraping the bottom of their bank accounts and trying to save so much money for rainy days, but we had too many rainy days to count. Then the internet bill came and my dad couldn’t pay it at all. So the WiFi was cut off.

That basically means that I won’t be posting as often as I have been. I’ve been on a great writing streak with my novel, but as far as the blog is concerned, I may not be able to post as many as five or even nine posts a month as I have been. It really stinks to have to do this, but right now, I am relying on the public library more often than ever now.

I’ll try to post more Monday Blogs posts as often as I can, but don’t expect two posts to be posted in the same week. I’m really sorry about this.

Now, I need to start this race and get to 25K by the end of the week. If not, then by Wednesday or Thursday of next week.

With Love,

The Lady in the Blue Box

Playlist selection- Fell in love with this song when I heard it on this album my mom got out from the library. I have a copy now, and the rest of it isn’t very good, except for a few songs, like this one, “Under the Influence”, and the hit single “Ex’s and Ohs”.

Leave a Reply

