The lusty month of May

I almost kind of feel like Queen Guinevere in Camelot, skipping along the flower fields and singing, “It’s May, it’s May, the lusty month of May…”

That’s because May is here.

This morning, I had a Chicago song in my head, wondering, “Does anybody really know what time it is? Does anybody really care?” And it was abruptly interrupted when my mother started complaining of a nasty pain in her belly. She decided to take the day off from work today because of her digestive issues. I do hope she feels better when I get home.

But this past weekend, I celebrated the end of Camp NaNoWriMo by spending the late afternoon Saturday in Baltimore City with my man and my best friend with her boyfriend. It had been months since I last saw Kerensa and Alex, not since her birthday in December, and we had been planning to get together for the Pirate Fest for months. But sadly, Kerensa suffered from an ear infection that was causing a lot more physical problems than she already had, so she had to stay home and miss the festival.

Safe to say it wasn’t a party without her and I kept thinking about her when I arrived with the pirates earlier in the month of April.

But long after the infection passed and we were both settled after the fest, Kerensa called me and said, “I feel so bad about missing the pirates! Why don’t we go down to Fells Point all dressed up some weekend?”

To which, Anthony and I said, “Wouldn’t we get some weird looks for being out of place with no festivals in town and everyone wearing regular clothes?”

Kerensa did say that was a good point, but to Anthony’s remark, she said, “He’s no fun!”

But we did go to the Owl Bar in our day clothes, just so everyone knows. We wanted to dress up, and I brought my new feathered hat just to be silly, but we remained in our normal clothes and walked around the Belvedere Hotel and Fells Point for a while. It was worth it.

And it was definitely worth the food and cocktails. The crab, artichoke and spinach pizza is divine if you’re ever feeling adventurous to try some, and the Ernie’s Pink Lemonade has to be my favorite cocktail. They put lemonade, blackberry liqueur and vodka in a sugar rimmed mason jar with ice and a lemon wedge, as if you’re having a daiquiri or cocktail in the countryside. And the sugar rim definitely takes away the sourness of the alcohol, with the berry-lemon sweetness of the drink.

I do like a good cocktail every now and then. And good thing we also went for ice cream at Fells Point Creamery across from the gelato place that Kerensa calls a hipster spot.

Well, today alone, I’ve also hit my 30,000 word mark, even though I’ve already written my 25K goal, and I don’t really need to validate because I’ve got everything I need ready and waiting for beta testing and publishing. Wisdom House Books will soon be getting back to me about an evaluation and I should be hearing from beta readers later in the month or whenever they’re finished reading my novel.

It’s also the last sessions of my programs at the Hussman Center. I hope everything goes smoothly.

-The Lady in the Blue Box

Leave a Reply

